Blue Grass Energy

1201 Lexington Road
Nicholasville, KY 40340
P: +1 888-546-4243


City Commission:
In Nicholasville, commissioners are citywide representatives, rather than representing a specific district or group. Commissioners make laws, ensure that they are carried out and perform administrative functions. All City Commission members were elected in 2016 and will serve through 2018. The mayor, who serves a four-year term, is a fully participating member of the commission and can vote on all matters.

Pete Sutherland
Elected 2014, Serves 2015-2018
A lifelong resident of Nicholasville, Mayor Pete Sutherland has more than 30 years of business experience. He was the owner-operator of Sutherland Chevrolet until selling the dealership in 2009. He then joined Jonah Mitchell Real Estate as a Realtor. He now serves as business manager for Holy Spirit Parish/Newman Center at the University of Kentucky. As a Nicholasville city commissioner and mayor pro-tem, Mayor Sutherland has worked with the Electric and Meter Departments to better serve the utility needs of residents.

* On this page, the term "Lieutenant Governor" is used for the person who stands in for the governor. This person is not called "Lieutenant Governor" in all states.
Name Term
Governor (Kentucky)
Andy Beshear (D) 2019-2023
Lieutenant Governor (Kentucky)
Jacqueline Coleman (D) 2019-2023
Senators (Kentucky)
Mitch McConnell (R) 2015-2021
Rand Paul (R) 2017-2023
Representatives (Kentucky)
Brett Guthrie (R) District 2
Thomas Massie (R) District 4
Andy Barr (R) District 6