StateBook International®

The Definitive Site for Site Selection


Franklin County Fiscal Court
‚ÄčThe governing body of Franklin County consists of a Fiscal Court. The Fiscal Court is comprised of the County Judge Executive, elected at large by residents of the entire county, and six magistrates, elected by residents of their corresponding district. Members of Fiscal Court are elected on a four year term.

The City of Frankfort operates under a City Manager form of government. In the City Manager form of government cities elect a mayor, but the mayor serves, participates and votes as a member of the City Commission. Four commissioners are also elected and one mayor, all of whom constitute the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners appoints a City Manager who acts as the chief administrative officer for the city. This individual is a professional who is employed by the city to run the operational affairs of the city on a day-to-day basis. Over half of the second and third class cities in Kentucky are governed by the City Manager form of government.

* On this page, the term "Lieutenant Governor" is used for the person who stands in for the governor. This person is not called "Lieutenant Governor" in all states.
Name Term
Governor (Kentucky)
Matt Bevin (R) 2015-2019
Lieutenant Governor (Kentucky)
Jenean Hampton (R) 2015-2019
Senators (Kentucky)
Mitch McConnell (R) 2015-2021
Rand Paul (R) 2017-2023
Representatives (Kentucky)
Andy Barr (R) District 6