StateBook International®

The Definitive Site for Site Selection

Greater Oklahoma City Chamber

123 Park Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
P: +1 405-297-8945


Oklahoma City has a Council Manager form of government. The city is divided into eight geographical areas called wards. The voters of each ward elect a council member to represent them and the mayor is elected at large. The mayor and eight city council members are elected to four-year terms. The mayor and council appoint a city manager to serve as the city’s chief administrative official.
Current Mayor Mick Cornett, first elected in 2004, has focused on two key priorities - education and jobs. Cornett's leadership in the implementation of MAPS for Kids, OKC's landmark $700 million public education investment program, has led the way in renovating the school infrastructure in the inner city. Additionally, Cornett has been instrumental in the City's continuation of an economic renaissance with employment expansion, acquisition of the NBA franchise and infrastructure development. Most recently, Cornett led and passed the campaign for MAPS 3, which will fund eight new major civic projects.

* On this page, the term "Lieutenant Governor" is used for the person who stands in for the governor. This person is not called "Lieutenant Governor" in all states.
Name Term
Governor (Oklahoma)
Kevin Stitt (R) 2019-2023
Lieutenant Governor (Oklahoma)
Matt Pinnell (R) 2019-2023
Senators (Oklahoma)
Jim Inhofe (R) 2015-2021
James Lankford (R) 2017-2023
Representatives (Oklahoma)
Frank Lucas (R) District 3
Tom Cole (R) District 4
Kendra Horn (D) District 5