Madison County - Powered by Blue Grass Energy

1201 Lexington Road
Nicholasville, KY 40340
P: +1 888-546-4243


Madison county, like most Kentucky counties, operates through a fiscal court system of magistrates. Madison county has 4 magisterial districts. The chief executive of the county is the Judge Executive. (

The county seat of Madison county is the city of Richmond. Richmond operates under a City Manager form of government. The citizens elect a mayor and four city commissioners which form the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners is the legislative body of the city government and represents the interests of the citizens when applicable. The Board of Commissioners appoints a city manager who administers the day-to-day operations of the city. The mayor is elected for a term of four years. Each city commissioner is elected for a term of two years. The term of the city manager is indefinite. (

Just a few miles south of Richmond lies the city of Berea. The City of Berea operates under a Mayor-City Council form of Government. Under this form of government the people of Berea elect a Mayor and eight (8) council members, who together, make up the Berea City Council, which possesses the legislative and executive powers of the city. Administrative powers are vested in the City Administrator who is appointed by a majority vote of the City Council for an indefinite term.

The Mayor presides over all meetings, calls special meetings, and executes all bonds, notes, contracts, and written obligations authorized by the board. Berea’s City Administrator is the chief administrative officer of the city and exercises the executive powers and functions delegated by ordinance and statute.

The Mayor and eight council members are elected by the citizens to act as their representatives in all legislative matters. Their primary duties are to enact ordinances and make polices that are for the ultimate good of the community as a whole. The mayor is elected for a four-year term and the Council members are elected for two-year terms. (

Business Support

Richmond houses one of the states 15 Small Business Development service centers within the campus of Eastern Kentucky University.

The Kentucky Small Business Development Center network is a premier provider of business services that empower entrepreneurs with practical information, skills, and strategies that make measurable, positive impact on the performance of their businesses and, by extension, on the communities in which they work.

The Kentucky Small Business Development Center Network is dedicated to strengthening Kentucky businesses and creating economic growth by building strategic alliances and by providing excellent management assistance, educational programs, and helpful resources for Kentucky small business owners and entrepreneurs.

For more information, visit the SBDC's website at

* On this page, the term "Lieutenant Governor" is used for the person who stands in for the governor. This person is not called "Lieutenant Governor" in all states.
Name Term
Governor (Kentucky)
Andy Beshear (D) 2019-2023
Lieutenant Governor (Kentucky)
Jacqueline Coleman (D) 2019-2023
Senators (Kentucky)
Mitch McConnell (R) 2015-2021
Rand Paul (R) 2017-2023
Representatives (Kentucky)
Andy Barr (R) District 6